Flings, beaches and goats

Dear Max

We are back from our holiday to Wilderness/Knysna for my good friend Ally’s wedding, and we had a fantastic time. I’m so happy to be back though – to get back into routine, to go back to work (seriously) and to be around our stuff and precious people and pets. When we got home, at around 7pm, you ran around the house touching things, unpacking all your toys and trying to chase the cats – I think you were thrilled to be home too. So much so that you only went to sleep at 11pm – eeek! Truthfully though, since we got back from America at the end of November, you haven’t exactly been the 7pm-to-sleep dude you used to be. You show no signs of fatigue until 8ish/9ish, and I’m beginning to wonder (and worry) if 10pm will continue to be the new 7pm this year.

Some of the cool things you did on holiday included the following:
– Patting goats at a farm in The Wilderness, while giggling (I had to watch carefully that you didn’t try to poke his eyes like you sometimes try to do with the cats)
– Walking on the beach – falling as you weren’t so steady, and then laughing as you got back up (this story was less funny for me and Dad as we were walking to Ally’s house, and had underestimated the distance in getting there, the heat and the possibility that you would try to dash into the sea at every opportunity. Long story short – Dad and I got tired, wet, burnt and fought with each other).
– Swimming in the sea and pool: getting into water rates as one of your most exhilirating experiences. I must add that Dad swum with you on all occasions. I am a bit of a wuss in water, don’t like getting splashed and currently have a fear of getting into a swimming costume, which might go away in about 10kg or so. Just for the record, I do swim with you at home. Occasionally.
– Eating all the fruit and veg you could get your paws on. You heart fruit and veg, and we dare not ever eat some without sharing, or walk through the prepared-fruit aisle at Woolies without you howling for something. Long may it last! (People think we’ve brought you up so well because you love your daily five and more dose, but I just think this is how you’re wired. I’ll continue to take the credit though).
– Meeting so many new people and overseas friends of mine, and smiling at them, playing with them and clapping your hands. I’ve written about it before here, but you really adore people. On the plane there and back, you fell asleep during the last five minutes of the flights – my theory is that you didn’t want to miss out on meeting some strangers, and getting tickled, peekaboo’ed or held.
– Learning that two hands is better than one, and grabbing grapes/Flings/cucumbers/melon with both hands, so that you have a piece in each. That’s our boy!
– Spending a night with Grandpa in Keurbaai, when it was Ally’s wedding. You had a great time, and I’m so glad you had quality time with Grandpa and your uncle Aaron and aunty Maya. It helps that they’re only 10 and 6 years older than your respectively, not only because they hand down all their great stuff to you, but because you adore that you can play with them on a “child” level.
– Running the length and breadth of the Knysna Waterfront while Dad and I ate supper. And what I mean by “Dad and I ate supper”, I mean me looking after you while Dad ate supper at the restaurant, with his Blackberry for company, before exchanging shifts and him looking after you while I ate supper, with my
Blackberry as company.

I never thought I’d consider a holiday running after a little dude and putting aside my absolute “freedom” as fun, and in fact I used to feel a little sorry for parents seeing them on holiday shlepping and tending to their kids, while I rolled as I wanted. Thing is Max, somehow you have become like the sand on our beach and the ice cream in our cone – needed and appreciated. So run as far as you’d like, squeal for a grape, grab three Flings from the packet, or charm the people at the next table. I’ve got your back, and can’t wait for more holidays together.

Yours in holiday highs,
xMom

4 responses to “Flings, beaches and goats”

  1. MomAgain@40 says :

    Cute! We also miss our holiday when we were with the toddler 24/7 already! We would have mussed out on something if she had not been with us… Sigh! Now back to work!

  2. Sharon says :

    Sounds like you all had a fabulous holiday!

  3. Tania says :

    ‘the sand on our beach and the ice cream in our cone’, absolutely true!

  4. nickistormdadic says :

    Divine! I wish Luca would eat fruit and veggies willingly … so far, any veg has to be disguised as lumps in cheese sauce. On the fruit front, the odd apple slice is about it *sigh*
    I long for our first ENJOYABLE holiday as a family … which I am planning now. For December 🙂
    x

Leave a Reply

