What you see is what you get

Dear Max

One of the many many many things I adore about you (and most children in general) is your absolute honesty and your “what you see is what you get” character. It’s refreshing to see absolute truth in you – you cry when you’re sad, you laugh when something is funny, you shout for what you want, and you walk around unashamedly in your nappy, and play with my makeup and jewellery without any significance attached, other than the fact you love playing with them.

And when I watch you, I wonder at what point we start becoming a little bit more complex, a little bit insecure, a little bit more dishonest, a little scared to walk around in our briefs, and a little unable to say/do/act as we feel?

I know so many great times and developments lie ahead, but in a way I want to freeze these moments and keep you Zen, honest and unaffected forever. Especially since you’re a boy, where life sometimes dictates that it’s not cool to cry or to “feel” so deeply.

But life and rules and norms will get in the way, but I’m hoping you’ll be secure enough to be as you are, and feel as you want, and do as you want (so long as no one get hurts – and this includes my MAC lipsticks). And if that means finding humour in the seemingly smallest of things (like when I sneeze), or getting irritated (like when Rex steals your Flings), or feeling sad (like when I leave for work), then just do it. You’ll be smarter and happier if you do, and will be less likely to land up on the therapist’s chair one day (though I’m nervous that the Hello Kitty towel and babygrow you’ve used and worn might land you there anyway…)

I’m ending off with Dr Seuss again, because he just says it best. And wisest. “Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.”

Love you,
xMom

4 responses to “What you see is what you get”

  1. NickiD says :

    Love it! I also want Luca to remain as gentle and kind-hearted as he is now, forever … but not everything is in our hands 😥 x

  2. Sharon says :

    I’ve been thinking along similar lines over the past few days. Every time I watch Ava dancing in complete abandonment, out of rhythm and totally silly but with such joy, I wonder when life will start to shape her and make her insecure of being exactly who she is right now in all her truth and beauty.

  3. samcy says :

    *LOVE* this post! Love! xxx

  4. vanessa says :

    If only we could keep them so darn cute and honest! x

Leave a Reply

