Where you’re at

Dear Max

Aside from the fact that you are currently the world’s cutest and most fabulous 17-month-old (yes readers, it is true), some other things have been happening in your life aside from your sheer gorgeousness and smartness:

– You’re off to playschool next week, for the first time. That’s five more fricking sleeps! I can’t wait, yet I can wait for the day to come. But each night, as I see you playing with the spice bottles from the spice rack, and putting tinned food from the pantry into your shopping cart, I realise it’s time for you to have more stimulation and fun adventures in your life.
The bloody puppy Rex woke you up at 2am on Monday morning barking. You woke up, were cross and upset, and only went to sleep two hours later, with thanks to TLC and Calpol.
– You adore the knife rack, and every time I put you on the counter to prepare your food or bottle, you scuttle off to the other end, over the stove (it’s always off), and reach for the knife rack on the wall. And boy do you scream when I take you away from the very dangerous knife area. Which is why I put you on the dangerous counter in the first place, because you scream when you don’t get to sit on it. You’ve become a little, er, willful, and vocal, when you don’t get your way. This is cool, and I wouldn’t expect anything less coming from my son (I’m more the silent sulker than the vocal screecher, though).
– You love hanging out in the car. In fact, the other morning I was able to shower, do makeup and Ghd solo (a rarity) while you were in the stationary car playing music, switching the indicator on and off, hooting and playing with the steering wheel.
– You sometimes get called a girl, because of your gorgeous curls and pretty face – I know this because I do ask why people mistake you for a boy when you’re mostly clad in blue every day. There are worse things that could happen and I think it is quite complimentary, so let’s not sweat this one.
– You still love dancing to music, and pretending you’re an Angry Bird when you fling from one side of the bed to the next.
– You have two top molars, and you’re cutting the bottom two. You can’t say anything yet, even though I’m drilling “mamamamamamamama” into you daily. Again, I’m not worrying about this. All in your own time…
– You and the bloody puppy Rex continue to work as a tag team. You feed him your food after I’ve given it to YOU, you tear up magazines together, and you pull out stuff from my cupboard for him to chew.

You continue to be my greatest teacher and greatest little dude. Looking forward to more happenings…

xMom

5 responses to “Where you’re at”

  1. Invivo says :

    Awhhh…smoochies. He’s so cute!

  2. Sharon says :

    Oh my gosh! Have you started taking Attivan in preparation for his big day at nursery school? I get so excited when I think about our littlies going off to nursery school and then I get utterly terrified at the same time!

  3. samcy says :

    So exciting that he’s getting to go to nursery school – the circle of life turning in earnest.

    xxx

  4. To Love Bella says :

    I really do just LOVE reading your blog! It is so incredibly special! And your boy is GORGEOUS!!!! Fancy entering him into an arranged marriage? LOL!!
    Oh – and I’m also already starting the Mamamamamama thing.. but Bella just looks at me as I am ‘not well’!
    x

  5. Tanya Kovarsky says :

    Thanks so so much. And of course – Max and Bella would be fabulous together. How good do their names sound together? Max has always wanted to live by the sea too 🙂

Leave a Reply

