Could this be the greatest toy ever?

Dear Max

On Saturday I had a bit of shopping to do in one of those large shopping centres so I shlepped you with in a rare episode of malling on a Saturday. After you patiently got pushed around while I bought some shoes, I thought I’d give you your turn by going to Toys R Us for you to hang out and play with some stuff.

We trawled the aisles, you found interest in some stuff (and pointed to all the Hello Kitty stuff and said “kitteeee” – could I be any prouder?) and then we hit The Aisle, the one with the cars, mini tractors, trikes and bikes. Your face lit up, and if you were in a movie, fireworks would have gone off with symphony music playing in the background.

You literally stepped into a car and stayed there for half an hour, steering, and “driving” backwards and forwards (your feet actually do the week since you walk the car). I decided that since this was the best thing since milk, CBeebies and Talking Tom, I’d get it for you for your birthday.

And Max, if I could have taken it out of the shop with you still in it, I would have. But it had to bought in a box, and removed, and while I knew it would be tough to extract you from it when it was time to leave, I was not prepared for the onslaught of tears and sadness when we left. You were gutted. And even though we walked to the car with a big box with your car in pieces, it didn’t translate as the coolest-ever vehicle I cruelly pulled you out of.

Ten minutes later (though in real terms this is more like 45 minutes when you’re a mom) you had calmed down, thanks in no small part to the tub of rosa tomatoes you ate after hollering for them as we went past the vegetable section.

It was an awesome buy and I hope it brings you many happy steps and times. This morning, I came home to find you in your car, watching CBeebies and eating tomatoes. The ultimate trifecta.

xxxMom

10 responses to “Could this be the greatest toy ever?”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Emma-lynn played with that exact same car on saturday, she loved it and crawled around browsing the toy aisles in it, of course her mom was not cool and never bought it so we just left with tears and no concellation prize.

  2. Anonymous says :

    Awesomeness!!!! Do they have it in pink? With HK stickers?? x

  3. Fiona says :

    That is an awesome toy!!! I bet it’s going to be his favourite birthday present 🙂

  4. Tanya Kovarsky says :

    I’m thinking of adding my Hello Kitty stickers to it! 🙂

  5. cat@juggling act says :

    A great great toy!

    Love that he loves rosa tomatoes so much.

  6. Anonymous says :

    Hi Tanya

    this is the first time I have read your blog and it is great. I LOVE the way that you write to your son. I also have a little boy who is 14 months old and I love him to bits. A lot of what you write about resonates with me.

    Thanks – keep ’em coming!

    Victoria

  7. Kate says :

    lol, that is seriously awesome. Poor little guy! sometimes I really wish there was a translator so parents could explain that we’re not being as mean as they think we are… shame man. (very cute that he loves tomatoes!)

  8. Tanya Kovarsky says :

    Kate, I’m sure you could invent that translator? I’m order five now… 🙂

  9. Tanya Kovarsky says :

    Thank you so much – I’m glad you can relate. This journey aint easy, but man it’s awesome and rewarding!

  10. Raising Men says :

    Oh I’m totally getting one. Which branch was that at, then? x

Leave a Reply

