Four legs good

Dear Max

I’m quoting from Animal Farm by George Orwell, which may or may not be a literature setwork when you’re in high school (I’m picturing it on an e-reader or the compulsory tablets that schools could demand). The rest of the sentence goes “two legs bad”, but I am fond of some people, so I didn’t include it here.

We got another four legs into our home last week, fresh from SPCA Brakpan, and rescued from a house of utter neglect (barely food or water, no love, no walks, no vaccines and no basket and blanket). As soon as I saw the picture of this black Lab, I *knew* she was ours, and in fact Sharon from the Lab rescue organisation, said that this dog had my name on her forehead. Bless.

It’s as hard to take pictures of dogs as it is kids, but here goes. Here’s Gina…

Gina, meet Max. Max, meet Gina

She has settled in so well, and she is so sweet. She wags her tail ALL the time, follows me everywhere, and is just so full of – and accepting – of love. She was a little afraid to come into the house at first (probably because her only experience of houses was being chained up outside), but she is now comfortable.

I was concerned that she’d be more “damaged” – crying at night, needy or untrusting of humans, but this little Lab is just so eager to fit in, and provide company, and be part of our family. As soon as we got her, I took her to our vet for a checkup, and she had a fever and infection, probably a result of her sterilisation two days earlier. She’s on antibiotics and I’ll take her back next week for a checkup – I hope she doesn’t have to go through more tests and another op.

One member of our fam who has been sulking is Annydots. She is now hanging out in the basin, looking pissed off, as if to say “Mom, how could you bring this beast into my life?” I think she’s still getting over living with a Rottweiler. I’m trying to tell her that Gina is gentle, but she’s not having it.

It’s so awesome coming home to your open arms and happy screams of “mama”, as well as four paws, a wet nose, and fast-moving tail.

xMom

4 responses to “Four legs good”

  1. Vanessa Lewis says :

    Bless you! rescue dogs are the best. Why buy a puppy when you can adopt?
    Hope you guys have a fab time together

  2. Sam says :

    Tanya, do me a favour? Post another pic of Gina like that last one in a months time? I cannot wait to see what some nutrition and lots of love can do for that gorgeous girls ribs and hips.

    May she bring you and Max much joy and love.

    xxx

  3. Tanya Kovarsky says :

    I definitely will. I’m going to be “that person” posting loads of dog pics 🙂

  4. cat@juggling act says :

    Poor girl – look how thin she is! Cannot wait to she how she fills out with all the love and good food she get in your home. I an unashamedly a lab lover. They are just the best.

Leave a Reply

